Waingapu, East Sumba

Hell yeah! We have a place like this! Yes, it’s still Indonesia and Jokowi still came to this place couple months ago for the presidential campaign.. Although this is not the place where I came from, I would probably recommend people to visit this place when they come to Indonesia, rather than Java.

This is East Sumba. It lies on the island of Sumba, part of the province of Nusa Tenggara Timur. Nusa Tenggara is an archipelago in the southeast of Indonesia. Nusa means island and Tenggara means Southeast. I don’t know since when, but Nusa Tenggara is separated into two province, Nusa Tenggara Barat (West Nusa Tenggara) and Nusa Tenggara Timur (East Nusa Tenggara). So, if translated, Nusa Tenggara Timur will be “The Island on The East Southeast”. Confusing.

Anyway, up until now, this place has the bluest sky I have ever seen. The landscape consists of hills and savannah. In some place you might still find horses freely grazing on those knee-high yellow grass fields. But since I only stay here for 3 night, and many many work tasks that I have to fulfill, I only went to the top of one hill, in the border line of Waingapu, and took these pictures. Even though tonight (this is my last night here) I’m going to cry out loud of wanting to go to Tarimbang beach and Weekuri lake. So, if you’re luckier than me to come and have a longer time here, make sure you go to those places! I gave you the link from my favorite Indonesian travel blogger if you want to take a peek at them 🙂

About rpatriana

"a frog who try to sneak out of the coconut shell" - 2dayanotherday.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waingapu, East Sumba

  1. Gak nemu orang yah di jalan. Hamparan savana saja sejauh mata memandang. Belajar naek kuda, enak kali yah. Hehe

Leave a Reply

